Pakistan has been elected as a non-permanent member of the UNSC.

Pakistan has been elected as a non-permanent member of the UNSC.

Pakistan has been elected as a non-permanent member of the United Nations Security Council (UNSC) for the term 2025-2026, receiving an overwhelming support in the elections held by the UN General Assembly in New York today.

We are grateful to all members of the UN General Assembly for their confidence in Pakistan and electing it as a non-permanent member of the Security Council. We are also grateful to the members of the Asia-Pacific Group for endorsing Pakistan’s candidature for the Council.

Elected for the eighth time as a non-permanent member, Pakistan brings to the UN Security Council a rich experience and a strong legacy of contributions towards the maintenance of international peace and security, manifested by its strict adherence to the purposes and principles of the UN Charter as well as its UN peacekeeping and peacebuilding endeavours across many regions of the world.

In its upcoming term, Pakistan will remain committed to pursuing just and peaceful resolution of outstanding and ongoing disputes; opposing the resort to unilateral and illegal use or threat of use of force; combatting terrorism in all its forms and manifestations; supporting effective UN peacekeeping, peace enforcement and peacebuilding efforts; and contributing effectively towards the resolution of regional and global crises. Pakistan looks forward to working closely with the other members of the UN Security Council and with the broader UN Membership for upholding the UN Charter and pursuing the vision of preventing war and promoting peace; fostering global prosperity and promoting universal respect for human rights.

What a thumping endorsement! Grateful to all those member states that voted for us. Congratulations Pakistan.

Danish Pakistani Business Council 

UNITED NATIONS: After a robust campaign lasting for months, Pakistan was elected to a non-permanent seat on the UN Security Council on Thursday, receiving an impressive 182 out of 193 votes from the General Assembly, significantly exceeding the required two-thirds majority of 124 votes.

The election results were met with loud applause in the General Assembly hall as President Dennis Francis announced the new non-permanent members: Pakistan, Denmark, Greece, Panama, and Somalia. These countries will take over from Japan, Ecuador, Malta, Mozambique, and Switzerland when their terms conclude at the end of this year.

Pakistan is set to replace Japan in the Asian seat starting January 1, 2025, marking its eighth term on the Council.

Munir Akram, Pakistan’s Permanent Representative to the UN, shared his excitement, stating, “This election reflects the international community’s trust in Pakistan’s commitment to the UN Charter.”

He highlighted Pakistan’s resolve to cooperate closely with other Council members to promote peace and resolve conflicts amicably.

Comments are closed.